Free Community Classes & Events

milkweed-multi-closeup-2_med_hr   Spring & Summer 2017:

~ Medicinal Plants and Changing Landscapes of Central New Mexico: Sponsored by the Gutierrez-Hubbell House: Sunday March 26, 1pm

~ The Yerba Mansa Project: Community-Driven Native Plant Restoration in the Bosque: Sponsored by the Native Plant Society, Albuquerque Chapter:  Wednesday April 5, 7pm at the Natural History Museum of New Mexico

~ Medicinal Plants in the Community Garden: Sponsored by The Source: Spring Fair, Saturday May 6, 10am -6pm, Medicinal Plants at 3:30pm. Event details.

~ Urban Weed Walk Sponsored by Slow Food Abq: Sunday May 7, 10am. Details and RSVP info.

~ The Yerba Mansa Project: Bosque Restoration Field Day:  Saturday May 13, 10am to 1pm: Please RSVP.

~ Edible and Medicinal Plants at The Open Space Visitor Center Heritage Garden: Sponsored by the City of Albuquerque Open Space Summer Series: Sunday June 11, 9am. Details and RSVP.

~ Medicinal Plants of the Bosque Hike: Sponsored by the Sierra Club: Sunday July 30, 5:30pm: RSVP info and other details coming soon.

~ The Yerba Mansa Project: Bosque Restoration Field Day:  Saturday September 9, 10am to 1pm: Please RSVP.

.

We are still finalizing our schedule for this year.

.More Free Community Herbalism Classes are in the works. 

Join our email list to find out when they are scheduled.

.

Dara Urban Weed Walk

Free Community Herbalism: Urban Weed Walk

Past Free Community Classes & Events:

2016:

~ Yerba Mansa Project Restoration Site Tour ~ Sponsored by the Sierra Club Rio Grande Chapter: Saturday November 26

~ Folk Healing Traditions of New Mexico: Medicinal Plants of the Middle Rio Grande ~ Exhibit Opening sponsored by The Gutierrez-Hubbell House: Saturday November 19

~ Plants of the Bosque ~ A family event sponsored by The Bosque Action Team: Sunday September 25

~ Native Medicinal Plants of Albuquerque Open Spaces ~ Sponsored by the City of Albuquerque Open Space Visitor Center: Sunday October 23

~ Bosque Restoration Field Day ~ Part of the Yerba Mansa Project: Saturday September 10

~ Wild for Weeds: Edible and Medicinal Weeds of Albuquerque Yards and Gardens ~ Sponsored by the City of Albuquerque Open Space Visitor Center: Saturday July 30

~ Bosque Restoration Field Day ~ Part of the Yerba Mansa Project: Saturday May 14

~ Yerba Mansa Project Site Tour: Sponsored by the Native Plant Society of New Mexico, May 7

~ Medicinal and Edible Weed Education at the National Public Gardens Day Event ~ Sponsored by the Abq BioPark: Friday May 6

~ An Introduction to the Medicinal Plants of Central New Mexico ~ Sponsored by the New Mexico Native Plant Society: Wednesday May 4

~ Seeds as Food and Medicine ~ Part of the Albuquerque Bernalillo County Library’s 2nd Annual Seed Fair: Saturday February 6

2015:

*Intro to Wild Food Foraging ~ Sponsored by Taylor Ranch Public Library: Sat. Oct. 24.

*Medicinal Herbs for the Southwest Garden ~ Sponsored by Plants of the Southwest Albuquerque: Sat. Oct. 17.

*Bosque Education Day ~ Part of The Yerba Mansa Project: Sat. Oct. 3.

*Bosque Restoration Field Day ~ Part of The Yerba Mansa Project: Sat. Sept. 12.

*Healthy Herbal Snacks Demo  ~ Sponsored by The Railyards Market: Sun. August 9.

*Evening Bosque Medicinal Herb Walk  ~ Sponsored by The Sierra Club and Bosque Action Team: Sat. August 1.

*Wild About Weeds~ Sponsored by City of Albuquerque Open Space: Sunday June 14

*Bosque Restoration Field Day~ Part of The Yerba Mansa Project: Saturday May 30

*Kitchen Herbs for Garden, Food, and Health ~ Sponsored by City of Albuquerque Open Space: Sunday May 17

*Herbs for Nutrition ~ Part of The Edgewood Self Reliance Fair: Saturday May 2

*Community Garden and Sustainability Fair ~ including free mini-classes with a variety of teachers, a plant walk (with me), and silent auction fundraiser for The Yerba Mansa Project ~ Sponsored by The Source: Sat. April 25